The Wipers Times

16th October 2018

to

01st December 2018

Ian Hislop and Nick Newman’s The Wipers Times tells the true and extraordinary story of the satirical newspaper created in the mud and mayhem of the Somme. Following a sell-out season, The Wipers Times returns to the West End.

In a bombed out building during the First World War in the Belgian town of Ypres (mis-pronounced Wipers by British soldiers), two officers discover a printing press and create a newspaper for the troops. Far from being a sombre journal about life in the trenches, they produced a resolutely cheerful, subversive and very funny newspaper designed to lift the spirits of the men on the front line.

This year, The Wipers Times have formed a partnership with the Royal British Legion, and will be staging a special one-off gala performance on the evening of Sunday 11th November to mark the centenary of the Armistice. The performance will include appearances from special guests, and access to an exclusive after-party with the purchase of Premium tickets. All proceeds from this event will go to the Royal British Legion, in support of their Thank You campaign.

Book now via the following address to avoid disappointment: https:artstheatrewestend.co.uk/whats-on/the-wipers-times-royal-british-legion-charity-performance/

★★★★
“Laugh a minute”
Mail on Sunday

★★★★
“Remarkable forerunner to Private Eye”
Daily Telegraph

★★★★
“Even – perhaps especially – at its silliest, the play has a respect for its subject matter that is deadly serious and decidedly affecting”
The Times

★★★★★
“Quite magnificent”
Libby Purves, TheatreCat

★★★★★
“Wonderfully theatrical”
WhatsonStage

Tuesday 16 October - Saturday 01 December 2018

Monday - Saturday Evenings: 7.30pm
Thursday & Saturday Matinee: 2.30pm

No performances on Monday 05 & Monday 12 November
Additional matinee at 2.30pm on Wednesday 14 November

Previews until 18 October: £27.50, £17.50
Main Run: Monday - Thursday: £49.50, £39.50, £32.50, £23.50
Friday - Saturday: £55, £44.50, £36.50, £24.50
(plus £1.50 booking fee online and by phone. No fees in person at box office)

School & Group rates available please call the Box Office

Duration: Two hours & 10 minutes (including interval)
Age recommendation: 12+

Twitter: @WipersTimesPlay

Performances

Wednesday 14th November 2018 19:30


Thursday 15th November 2018 14:30


Thursday 15th November 2018 19:30


Friday 16th November 2018 19:30


Saturday 17th November 2018 14:30


Saturday 17th November 2018 19:30


Monday 19th November 2018 19:30


Tuesday 20th November 2018 19:30


Wednesday 21st November 2018 19:30


Thursday 22nd November 2018 14:30


Thursday 22nd November 2018 19:30


Friday 23rd November 2018 19:30


Saturday 24th November 2018 14:30


Saturday 24th November 2018 19:30


Monday 26th November 2018 19:30


Tuesday 27th November 2018 19:30


Wednesday 28th November 2018 19:30


Thursday 29th November 2018 14:30


Thursday 29th November 2018 19:30


Friday 30th November 2018 19:30


Saturday 01st December 2018 14:30


Saturday 01st December 2018 19:30